About IFMR Society

Established in 1970 as a not-for-profit society, the Institute for Financial Management and Research (IFMR) was set up to provide research-based inputs to industries and the government in the areas of finance and economics. Sponsored by the erstwhile ICICI Ltd, the House of Kotharis and other major industrial groups, IFMR Society was the first of its kind in Asia.

The current Board of Governors is headed by Mr R Seshasayee – Chairman, IndusInd Bank Ltd, Mumbai, and consists of Ms Nayantara Kothari, Director of Kothari Safe Deposits Ltd, Mr D Sundaram, Vice Chairman of TVS Capital Funds, Mr S Mahalingam, Former Chief Financial Officer (CFO) & Executive Director, Tata Consultancy Services, Mr S.Krishnan,IAS, Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology, Government of India and Mr Kapil Viswanathan, President of IFMR.

IFMR Society is the sponsoring body of Krea University - a state private university in Andhra Pradesh. Krea University is listed in the University Grants Commission (UGC) website.

Today, IFMR Society is as an umbrella organization housing several sub-entities like

These sub-entities enable IFMR to conduct pioneering research in development economics across a wide range of areas such as: Finance, Financial Inclusion, Digital payments, Infrastructure and Governance, Agriculture, Health, Education, Labor, Entrepreneurship, SMEs etc. They specialize in conducting high-quality policy and action oriented research and inform policymaking debate by partnering with influential stakeholders too.

IFMR also collaborates with leading professors and economists, think tanks, research organizations, governments and industry experts across the globe on research design and implementation, and data analysis and dissemination.


Over its nearly five decades of existence, IFMR Society has been recognized by various bodies:

  • Institution of Importance across India - by the Government of India (Ministry of Finance – under IT Act section 10(23)(c)(iv))
  • A Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (SIRO) recognized by the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India.